BitCoin Consumerism Drinking Economy Entertainment Fitness Food Investing IPhone Life Mortgage Poker Productivity Technology Television Travel Venting

Achilles tendonitis remedy that worked for me

For the last 3 weeks I have been waking up with a pain so sharp in my right ankle area that I have to hobble on one foot for most of the morning. Turns out that pain was caused by my achilles tendon being inflamed. I’m no doctor, but that doesn’t sound like a good thing. I’m guessing it was caused when I decided to run through the woods on rough uneven terrain for a few miles, felt good at the time.

There was plenty of good information that explains how it’s caused here: http://orthopedics.about.com/cs/ankleproblems/a/achilles.htm

I am not an athelete by any means, but when I can’t play the few sports I enjoy playing (volleyball, tennis) then i get irritated and start putting on some pounds as well. I went online to see what the brilliant forums held for me and found this extremely crude device called the Runner’s Stick. It can literally be substituted for a rolling pin you find in the kitchen. In fact, I initially used a rolling pin from the kitchen until I was yelled at for rubbing a rolling pin on my calves; awkward situation really.

runner stick

Basically, all you do is sit down with both legs out in front of you and use this not-so-fancy roller under the calf muscle that corresponds to you the leg you are having the achilles tendon pain. You roll out the tension in that calf muscle and it miraculously relieves tension from the achilles tendon below in the process. One thing to note: once you find the tender area on your calf muscle, you need to work that area over repeatedly for about 3 minutes with a decent amount of pressure. I won’t lie, it hurts, a lot. But once you’re done you can stand up and the achilles pain is almost non-existent. Enough so that I was able to play 3 hours of tennis the other day. You just have to keep doing it and apply ice when possible to truly rid yourself of the pain.

Here is the stick if you want to check it out:

Link to Runner’s Stick or here

Hope it works. Good luck.



Leave a comment